top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Phillips

Review: Fumbled


Fumbled

by Alexa Martin


Five out of Five Stars


One sentence summary: Poppy's got a lot going on raising her 9 year old son, but when she accidentally runs into her high school sweet heart, and Ace's father, can relationships built on secrets be restored?


First thought: Why did I let this sit on my self so long? **googles Alexa's next release date**


Why I read it: I read the first in the series, Intercepted and I'm totally here for the WAGS world that Alexa created. Three cheers for the Mustang Ladies.


POV: First Person, Present Tense, Female


Setting:  Denver Colorado


Tropes: Secret kid, Single Parent


Our Heroine: Poppy. I love an independent woman! She has been raising her son on her own for nine years and killing it. I think my all time favorite line is when one of her customers gets a bit handsy and she thinks- that's why she taught Ace to keep his hands to himself. I love seeing these feminist values in romance. Aside from that, Poppy was a fun character to get into. I loved her inner dialogue and even when she couldn't keep her thoughts inside.


Our Hero: TK. I love a big goofy athlete and I swear there's a moment in this book that TK's abs are out and he's being adorably silly and I just had to clutch the book to my chest. That's a good hero! A former playboy, TK ends up being one of the sweetest heroes I've read this month.


Overall thoughts: I am obsessed with Alexa's football world. Her side characters are perfectly crafted and full of personality. I cannot wait to see what comes next. I am seriously hoping Poppy's glitter loving best friend, Sadie, will get her own book.


This story was super family based, and I really enjoyed the scenes with Ace. He was an adorably authentic 9 year old. Oh no, did this book give me baby fever?


The sexy scenes: The chemistry with TK and Poppy was off the charts. I loved the bit of angst these two created as they got to know each other all over again. Plus, TK is the most body positive heroes I've read recently.


The best part of the book: Alexa's character development.


Worst part of the book: This story is based on a pretty big lie and I thought the forgiveness was a bit immediate, but maybe that just means these characters are a million times more mature than I am.

 

TLDR: Read this one. The characters in Alexa's WAG world are incredible.


How I read it: Paperback I pulled from my self! And I'm glad I finally did. 



Enjoy my blog? 

Follow me on Twitter, 

add me on Goodreads, 

or check out my Instagram!

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page