top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Phillips

Review: Getting Played



Five out of Five Stars


One sentence summary: After a one night stand with an impossible to find hottie, Lainey decides to proceed on her own-- accidentally in his small town!


First thought: Why did I wait so long to read/listen to the Getting Some series? Honestly the second I heard Zachary Webber narrating this audio book- I was hooked. And, a little distracted trying to figure out why his voice sounds so family. Zachary also narrates under the name Jacob Morgan who voices Wes from the Him & Us series. My all time favorite audiobook. #doubleswoon


Why I read it: I've had Getting Some in my Audible Escape package for a while, because duh- a teacher romance that's not with a student! Sign me up- that's my real life love story. But Getting Played accidental pregnancy trope spoke to me.


POV: Alternating M|F, Present Tense  


Setting: Lakeside, New Jersey


Tropes: Accidental Pregnancy, Small Town, New in Town


Our Hero: Lainey. A single mom and life style blogger on Facebook. What a cool job that was effortlessly weaved into her character and story. I loved this book because everything felt natural and Lainey was the coolest.


Our Hero: Dean. Okay, Dean is a sexy name and he is an ultimate book boyfriend. Often, what I like in book boyfriend is how they treat their other half. With this book, we had a lot of time to get to know our characters without their significant others. And Dean is cool, and sweet, and sexy, and a good teacher! The way he talks to his students is real and encouraging, and funny!


Overall thoughts: This book was fun for me. I really enjoyed the AP Calc kids. I don't normally have those types of students in my real classroom- but I know them and they were great.


There were also some great LOL moments in this book. I love when a character is also a romance novel reader- but it doesn't take over the story. There was a great moment for audio romance that had me dying laughing.


Also, is Lainey's family getting some? These side characters were great. I loved her sister Erin and wondered if I had ever met those characters before. Are they from another book??


The sexy scenes: What's great about an accidental pregnancy? Starting with one one the steamiest sex scenes I've listened to in a while! Thank you Zachary Webber & Emma Chase- ya'll made house chores a lot more fun.


The best part of the book: "Teachers are a funny breed. We’re social creatures—teaching is a social art—but excluding soldiers in the same foxhole, I don’t think there’s another profession on earth that bonds coworkers together so strongly. Teachers become each other’s support systems, their social network, their closest friends—even if they’re the type of personalities that wouldn’t normally mesh if you didn’t work in the same building."

Chase, Emma. Getting Played (Getting Some Book 2) (pp. 100-101).


I have never read something more true about what it's like to be a teacher. I loved this book so much because it felt real to me. I've heard myself, my friends, and my husband in these teachers!


What wasn't working for me: No complaints!


TLDR: How did you even finish this review? You should be listening to Getting Played!

How I read it: I started with the Audible Escape audio book, but ended up buying the ebook so I could finish in bed without bothering my hubby.


Links: Getting Played on Goodreads & Amazon


Enjoy my blog? Check out my Bookstagram, follow me on Twitter, or add me on Goodreads

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page