top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Phillips

Review: Sure Shot by Sarina Bowen


Four out of Five Stars


Yay! Another Brooklyn Bruiser. I loved this book and I love any time we get to visit the boys in purple.


There are a lot of reasons why Sarina is one of my all time favorite authors, but number one is the world that she has created. Almost every time I open on of her books, I know I'll get to check up on some old characters.


What's even better is that the visits from previous characters just make you want to read her works all over again.


Tank and Bess we a great couple and I'm so excited that Bess got her HEA. Their love story had a decidedly different vibe from the rest of the Bruisers though. Tank and Bess are a more mature couple, and while they still had their moments of avoidance, it was because their topics were heavy. As a 32 year old romance reader, reading Bess's freak out about turning 30, her HEA felt more real to me than some of the endless swooning Sarina gives us with her younger characters. I felt connected to Bess; she's the ultimate girl boss and you can't help but root for her and Tank was really her perfect match.


What I also really enjoyed about this book is that it gave us a lot of insight into where our Brooklyn boys and girls are now. It almost felt like we were saying goodbye to that cast while getting teased with a future cast of hockey players; but you'll need to read and find out! I really have no idea if that's true or not, but it's the vibe I was getting.


If you love getting folk rock songs stuck in your head, girl bosses, trips to Vermont to visit lumberjacks, and the antics of a hockey team, you have to read Sure Shot.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page