top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Phillips

Review: Wait with Me


Four out of Five Stars


One sentence summary: When inspiration strikes at a tire shop, you have to accept it- whether it's in the form of a steamy mechanic or a brand new HEA. 


First thought: Seriously, can I move to Boulder? These characters are incredibly fun and I want to be in their pack. 


Why I read it: After finding out the story behind this book, I had to read it. If you don't already know, check out Amy Daws' blog post chronicling the whole thing! 


POV: Alternating M|F POV, Present Tense 


Setting: Boulder, CO


Tropes: Work Place Romance, lol


Our Heroine: Kate. She's fun and free spirited, but I liked her a bit more in Next in Line, book two of the Boulder, CO crew. I guess the difference is, here she's figuring herself out-- which makes total sense, I just thought she was a bit funnier the second time around. Also, I loved that she's a proud Romance Novelist! You go girl!  


Our Hero: Miles. I liked him better in book two as well. I guess maybe I just liked Next in Line a bit more. Miles is a bit emotionally damaged from an ex and has a few jealousy issues. They didn't give me the willies or anything, and I liked that Kate joked that her romance readers love guys like that. But what I liked the most about Miles is: HE LIKED TO READ! Why don't more of our heroes read?  


Overall thoughts: It's so cute that Amy Daws wrote this story. I love reading it and pretending that it was a bit real- I mean Amy explains in her afterward which parts of the book were inspired by actual true events: writing in a tire shop and which parts were for the plot: the romance. But over all it was a pleasure reading Wait with Me, like we were all in on this little joke together. 


I rated this one a star lower than Next in Line because I felt like the side characters just weren't as engaging. But, that probably comes with the fact that the more Amy writes, the more she gets to know them. I honestly cannot wait to find out what happens with the crew! My fingers are crossed for a Lyndsy and Dr. Dick story.  


The sexy scenes: I appreciated that Miles and Kate were so open with each other. Because sleeping together was "book research," they really talked about what was going on- it was a totally different take on MC sexy scenes. 


The best part of the book: I read Amy's blog right before reading this book and it was charming to see the two mesh together. 


Worst part of the book: Again, I have zero complaints. 


TLDR: This is an adorable intro to Amy Daws' can't miss Rom Com series. When's the next one? 


How I read it: Read for free with my Kindle Unlimited subscription.   



Enjoy my blog? Check out my Bookstagram, follow me on Twitter or add me on Goodreads

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page