top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Phillips

Before Romance



During the time of my scholastic book-fairs, I was addicted to the Animorphs series. However, I wasn’t able to nab every copy from those roll out shelves and complete my series. So years later I went on a scavenger hunt to every used bookstore my state had to offer. I’d gotten my driver’s license by then, so it seemed like a noble journey and by the time I finished my freshman year of college, the trips paid off and I had re-read the series in its entirety.


Save, Harry Potter and Twilight, it wasn’t until I started student teaching in a high school, where I picked up a true love for YA and by my first year I was hooked. I had a few students I’d faithfully swap books with and I’ll never forget the moment one of my students brought me a stack 5 books high. She said she’d heard a snow storm was coming and wanted to make sure I had something to read over the break. Shortly after, a group of my students and I created our own book club. It was incredible, they’d choose something and a month later, we’d all talk about it. I swear there wasn’t a time when one of us hadn’t read the book.


--Hold on, let me take my rose tinted glasses off. Nope, still one of my fondest teaching memories.


After their high school graduation, Me Before You was released in theaters. Since it had been a book club pick, we vowed to see it before they left for their respective colleges. Now, that amazing group of girls are all in their senior year of college, and still sending me recommendations. Most often of the podcast variety now… But I digress.


During my first few years of teaching, I was begging for ways to connect with my students and I found it in things like The Walking Dead, Ravens Games, my love of bold prints, and most importantly books.


As I grew as a teacher, I found that the way that I connect with my students doesn’t have to be through things we have in common. We don’t need to read the same books to talk about our love of reading and we don’t need to all listen to Folk Rock to tease our teacher about her musical tastes. You see, I work in a school where Folk Rock isn’t on trend… But that’s not the point. The point is the idea of growing. And while I grew, I learned that I don’t need to read the same thing to talk about my love of reading.


However, this year I’ve got another great group of girls that love reading. So, we’re picking up book club again. I love the ebb and flow of teaching and I feel a young adult resurgence on the horizon. Maybe I should ease myself in with Sarina Bowen’s The Accidentals


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page